Quick Style Fixes for Busy Mums

It's not vanity. It's self-respect.

Tumble turns.

In my previous post I talked about tumble-turns, and you asked me in your thousands* what a tumble-turn was. (*lie)

It’s a beautiful movement that occurs during lane-swimming, and it’s the best fun you can have with a swimsuit on.

Michael Phelps does them. Rebecca Adlington does them. Ryan Gosling definitely does them. (I like to think.)

They look a bit like this:-

tumble_turn_crawl

Tumble-turns are an act of faith. They urge you to swim AT THE WALL until you are millimetres away from it. It’s madness.

Every fibre of my being screams at me to stop. When practising I have to overcome a voice in my head that says: You crazy?

It is only when you have silenced the Tumble Turn Fear that you can become a true master of the Tumble Turn.

As a novice, I am still learning. Physically, it’s a challenge. Last week I almost choked on my tongue. I end up with my legs akimbo and have to poke my head out of the water to find out where they are.

I get weird looks from the life-guard.

I have to make sure that there isn’t a fast swimmer behind me, just in case things go wrong and I end up blinding them.

But I am strangely addicted to perfecting this beautiful movement. It’s so graceful.

I am also, let’s face it, a bit of a show-off, and I am looking forward to the silent hush of awe from my fellow swimmers the day I finally get it right. And hey, who doesn’t want to impress lifeguards? They look so freaking BORED.

In fact, motherhood and tumble-turns have a lot in common. They both look hard. They both have a definite wall that you sometimes feel like smacking your head against. Sometimes you actually do.

When you start out, you frequently feel the world turn upside-down, have no idea what your body is doing, and feel out of your depth. (ahem.) Both require strength, stamina, and self-belief. When you get them wrong, you’ll feel a bit self-conscious.

But when you get it right – it’s pretty special.

Ryan swimming

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

